Enoch? Who?

In the beginning God was preparing everything for His beloved creation, man. He created Adam, then Eve, and then a garden. The perfect place to enjoy that relationship. Then the tragic fall happens, where Adam and Eve lose their privilege of dwelling with God. Life and Death happens. They have children who have children, who have children; lists and lists of people, we don’t know anything about. We don’t know who they are or what they’ve done. Nothing. Just that they were born, then died. Then i realized that there’s a certain rhythm to life. It’s like breathing. Up and down, lived and died. Adam, Eve, Cain, Abel, etc. They were born, then died. And so on. Begun and ended. Lived and died. Up and down. But suddenly, after years and years, the cycle was broken. There’s a stop! Finally something different!

21When Enoch had lived 65 years, he fathered Methuselah. 22Enoch walked with God after he fathered Methuselah 300 years and had other sons and daughters. 23Thus all the days of Enoch were 365 years. 24Enoch walked with God, and he was not, for God took him.” ESV, Genesis 5:21-24.

An easier translation says:

21 When Enoch was 65 years old, he became the father of Methuselah. 22 After the birth of Methuselah, Enoch lived in close fellowship with God for another 300 years, and he had other sons and daughters. 23 Enoch lived 365 years, 24 walking in close fellowship with God. Then one day he disappeared, because God took him.” NLT

Years and years have gone by since Adam and Eve lived so close with the Lord, and finally a man shows up who truly loves God! Something totally different from the monotone accounts of men who lived and then died.

God desired so much to dwell with man, that when Enoch came along, God couldn’t take it anymore and had to kidnap him. It’s the first account of a man actually walking closely with God since the fall, or living in constant fellowship with Him, and because of this, (I’m not surprised) God liked it so much that He didn’t want to wait for another 500 years till He got to be with Enoch 24/7. This is crazy to me!!! God desired, wanted, longed  so much to live with man that He couldn’t contain Himself. One day as He enjoyed Enoch, God said: “This is it! I just can’t take it. I gotta have you!”  Then boom! Enoch was gone! God is such a jealous God!

I think i would’ve done the same thing if I were God. Before, when i read this, i thought this is just a weird passage that doesn’t make much sense. Why would God just take Enoch? That was weird to me. But hey, what jealous lover can wait for 500 years till he’s with the love of his life? Nu-uh! Not God! No way, Jose! He HAD to have Enoch!

I think the people before him just lived life as usual, not really thinking about God, or when they did it was more because of duty. They didn’t dream big. They lived a life under the sun. Nothing new, just “normal” as everyone else: getting married, having kids, buying a house, a boat, going on vacation, etc etc. getting lost in the rhythm of life. Enoch wasn’t like that. He was different. His “house” was where His heart was. With God. He must’ve heard many stories from his ancestors about how awesome it was for Adam to dwell with God, that he probably made that his only request before God. And since God wanted it so much more, there came that time when their hearts were knitted so tight, God couldn’t take it anymore and took him for Himself. Ha!

This is amazing. I want to be like Enoch! I want my heart to be in such close fellowship with His, that one day, i’ll be gone:) Cristina Popa kidnapped by God! 🙂 I desire to be different. I desire to dream big and never give up this dream of love that God put in my heart. I am meant to love and be loved by God for the rest of eternity.

I was made to dwell with You Jesus!

“1Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more. 2And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. 3And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying,”Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God. 4He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.” ” Revelation 21:1-4 ESV

Draw me after you, let us run together” SoS 1:4 NASB


2 thoughts on “Enoch? Who?

    • I have a saying: If i don’t know you, i can’t trust you, and if i can’t trust you, i can’t love you. God revealing His heart through the story of Enoch gives me so much more trust and understanding that He is for me and not against me. I certainly do not think that this is doctrine, but i do know that it encouraged me to love Jesus more! I’m glad it encouraged you too Karen 🙂

Leave a Reply

